Executives with some members of GSA

Ghana Science Association-UCC, Ushers in New Executives

The Ghana Science Association (GSA), UCC Branch, has held a handing-over ceremony to usher in new Executives. 

New President's Address

In his acceptance speech, the new President, GSA, Prof. Michael Buenor Adinortey, expressed profound gratitude to the former executives and the entire membership of the association for the opportunity and confidence reposed in the new executives to serve the Branch. He indicated he believed that the entire membership would continue to support the smooth running of the association’s affairs.

The President explained, “It is through this synergism that we are going to make sure GSA continues to survive and progress in the midst of external challenges and pressures.” Prof. Adinotey indicated that the new executives have the vision to promote capacity building of members, broaden the membership base, stimulate the study of science and technology and publicise GSA programmes and activities on UCC campus, and Central Region at large. He also added that based on the multidisciplinary nature of GSA-UCC Branch, the leadership would be committed to best practices in running the association through a collaborative effort. 
Prof. Adinortey commended the immediate past executives for their hard work and initiatives that they undertook. “Indeed, you are an inspiration and an avenue for us to continue doing these great and sacrificial works that you began, I am certain that with this current team, we shall move GSA a step higher.”

Remark by National President of GSA

The National President, GSA, Prof. Moses Jojo Eghan, who is also the Provost of College of Agriculture and Natural Sciences (CANS), encouraged the new executives to be hardworking, dedicated and committed towards their responsibilities as leaders of the local branch to uplift the image of GSA.        

The Dean, School of Biological Sciences, Prof. Justice Kwabena Sarfo, who chaired the function, congratulated the new leadership of the association and urged them to spread their activities to involve the other science branches in the University, namely, CoHAS, CANS, CES and CoDE, as well as the Engineering disciplines in the Cape Coast Technical University (CCTU). 

The new executives are Prof. Michael Buenor Adinortey, President, Dr. Jerry Opoku-Ansah, Secretary, and Dr. (Mrs.) Alimatu-Saadia Yussiff, Treasurer.